Kids, crochet, and granny squares

Posted: September 13, 2012 in crafts, kids
Tags: , ,

It is intriguing to me that some things which were once necessary or highly valued are now nothing more than hobbies or eccentricities. I’m an after school teacher. Right now we’re doing a workshop about yarn and all the things you do with it. Yesterday we were talking about finger knitting. I brought in my knitting and crochet to show them as well. They thought it was cool. When we tried to finger knit I had boys and girls of multiple ages who were interested. I think that we need to at least introduce kids to these old-fashioned crafts to keep them alive and used. These are not a piece of the past I want to forget.
In honor of my students’ new skills I’m posting a link to probably the easiest to understand pattern for a granny square I have found.

http://crochet-mania.blogspot.com/2008/01/chain-4-join.html

Leave a Reply

