Week One

Posted: January 2, 2013 in 52 Weeks, crafts, Crochet
Tags: , ,

I finally finished one!

I am so proud of myself right now. I have a bad habit of starting projects and never finishing them. A couple months ago I talked about all the crochet projects I had planned. Well it’s the beginning of a new year and I completed one project finally. I have a couple more that are almost done, but this one is a wrap.

Not only is it the first I’ve finished in a while, but it is also my first infinity scarf. When I first started seeing these I didn’t really like them. Then a friend lent me hers and I started seeing the draw. I think what I like best is the versatility. It can be worn in one loop or two, as a shawl, around your head and probably more I’ve yet to see.

infinity scarf 1 infinity scarf Here are a couple of shots of the finished product. Once I got the pattern down it didn’t take me very long to finish. I tried to simply make a regular scarf and join the ends but had two problems. The first was that I hadn’t bought enough yarn so it was too short for anything. The other problem was that I was working on it while doing other things and messed up my counts so the row lengths were widely different in some places.

So for take two I found a fairly easy pattern and tried to follow that.  I don’t know what happened there but it started off pretty small and just kept getting smaller. So the second attempt got scrapped.

For take three I tried winging it again and it actually worked. I’m putting the basic pattern below. It’s easy to alter for size, color, and yarn type. This is the first time I’ve written a pattern so please send any questions or suggestions to improve.

Row 1 chain 200 (or as many needed to achieve desired length. I wanted mine to be about 5ft long so I had the length to loop it.) Join chain together. Try to avoid twisting the chain.

Row 2 chain 4. Dch in second chain. Chain One. Repeat to end of round. Join with ss.

Row 3 change color. Chain 4. (Dch in second stitch. Chain 1.) Repeat till end of round. Join with ss

Row 4 change color. Chain 4. Dch chain 1 in second stitch. Repeat. Join

Row 5 Chain 5. (Trch chain one) in second stich. repeat till end of row and join with ss.

Row 6 Change colors and complete as row 4

Row 7 Repeat instructions for row 5

Row 8-12 Chain 5. (Trch chain one) in second stich till end of row. Join with ss.

Row 13-17 Change color. Chain 5. (Trch chain one) in second stich till end of row and join with ss.

Row 18 Change color. Chain 5. (Trch chain one) in second stich till end of row and join with ss.

Row 19 Chain 4 (Dch chain one) in second stich till end of row and join with ss.

Row 20 Change color. Chain 5. (Trch chain one) in second stich till end of row and join with ss.

Row 21 Chain 4 (Dch chain one) in second stich till end of row and join with ss.

Row 22 Change color. (Dch chain one) in second stich till end of row and join with ss.

Row 23 Change color. (Dch chain one) in second stich till end of row and join with ss.

Row 24 Change color. Sch till end of row and join with ss.

Leave a Reply

