Week Three

Posted: January 21, 2013 in 52 Weeks, crafts, kids
Tags: , ,

I am going to be teaching a children’s class in a few weeks about a few sun myths and creating sun-catchers with the children. This week I have been testing a few techniques to see which ones to use. I want to have a few different options for them to choose from and to keep interest in the class.

One I am doing is the classic tissue paper and contact paper. The participants (I don’t think all of them are going to be children) will be able to use construction paper to create an outline of a design. One side will have a sheet of contact paper applied and the holes in the outline will be covered with tissue paper. Depending an the skill, interest  or whim of the creator they could also just apply tissue paper directly to contact paper without an outline.

Another method I am going to offer as long as I can find sturdy enough plastic for cheap is sharpie coloring on clear plastic. This is a fairly simple method, but can be very effective.

I’m considering offering pierced paper sun-catchers for the older participants, but I’m not sure.

There were two new techniques that I wanted try this week. One involved pouring school glue onto aluminum foil or into cookie cutters and coloring with food coloring. The problem is that this takes around 24 hours to dry and the class only lasts 90 min. I want to see if I can speed the process along with a hair dryer, but mine has yet to resurface since the move. Once I find where it went I will see if I can decrease the drying time and leave the art intact.

The other involved melting old crayons into thin sheets with an iron and then cutting out the desired shape. This did not work well for me in that the sheets were very thin and I couldn’t get them to peel off the wax paper without breaking. I was able to salvage this by simply leaving the waxed paper attached and cutting out the desired shape.

Here are two photos of the finished project. Unfortunately neither are using the sun since work and winter conspire to make me see very little of that right now. hopefully that will be changing soon.

IMG_0367 IMG_0366

Leave a Reply

